Project leaders

Dr Scott Lyall (PI) is Associate Professor of Modern & Scottish Literature at Edinburgh Napier University. He specialises in modern Scottish literature and is an expert on the Scottish literary renaissance of the early decades of the twentieth century. He has published books on the self-proclaimed leader of the revival, Hugh MacDiarmid (Hugh MacDiarmid’s Poetry and Politics of Place, and co-ed., The Edinburgh Companion to Hugh MacDiarmid) and fellow revivalist Lewis Grassic Gibbon (ed., The International Companion to Lewis Grassic Gibbon), as well as many articles and book chapters on the period. He is volume editor of Community in Modern Scottish Literature, and current co-editor of Scottish Literary Review.

Dr Michael Shaw (CI) is a Lecturer in Scottish Literature at the University of Stirling, and his research focuses on the literature and art of late-Victorian and Edwardian Scotland. He is author of The Fin-de-Siècle Scottish Revival: Romance, Decadence and Celtic Identity (Edinburgh University Press, 2020), and the editor of the correspondence between Robert Louis Stevenson and J. M. Barrie, A Friendship in Letters (Sandstone Press, 2020).

Dr Jim Benstead (Research Assistant) recently completed his PhD thesis on Hugh MacDiarmid’s appropriation of source texts in In Memoriam James Joyce. He is a Research Assistant on two projects at Edinburgh Napier University, and is part of the team that is preparing the forthcoming new edition of MacDiarmid’s Complete Collected Poems.

Core members

Dr Michelle Foot (University of Edinburgh)
Professor Frances Fowle (University of Edinburgh)
Dr Corey Gibson (University of Glasgow)
Dr David Goldie (President: ASLS)
Professor Murdo Macdonald (University of Dundee)
Dr Andrew Nash (School of Advanced Study, University of London)
Professor Glenda Norquay (Liverpool John Moores University)
Professor Alan Riach (University of Glasgow)
Dr Elsa Richardson (University of Strathclyde)
Dr Alex Thomson (University of Edinburgh)

International affiliated members

Dr Richard Alan Barlow (Nanyang Technological University)
Dr Sascha Bru (University of Leuven)
Dr Petra Poncarová (Charles University)
Dr Carla Sassi (University of Verona)
Professor Juliet Shields (University of Washington)

Other affiliated members (PhD and ECR)

Helena Duncan (Edinburgh Napier University)
Dr Arianna Introna (Independent Scholar)
Charlotte Lauder (University of Strathclyde)
Dr Paul Malgrati (Independent Scholar)